The Burke Museum is governed by the University of Washington Board of Regents and administered by the College of Arts and Sciences

Executive Director
Dr. Julie K. Stein

Julie K. Stein photoDr. Julie K. Stein has served as the Burke Museum’s executive director since 2005. Previously she served as the museum’s curator of archaeology. She also maintains a professor position in the Department of Anthropology at the University of Washington.

Dr. Stein received MA and PhD degrees from the University of Minnesota. Her research expertise includes geoarchaeology and coastal adaptations of prehistoric peoples, particularly in the Northwest Coast. 

Dr. Stein’s curriculum vitae (PDF)

Executive Leadership

Contact information for all Burke staff is available in the staff directory.

Executive Staff
  • Julie K. Stein, Executive Director
  • Kate Fernandez, Director of Interpretation
  • Alaina Fuld, Director of External Affairs
  • Tara McCauley, Director of Education
  • Anna O’Donnell, Director of Development
  • Polly Olsen, Tribal Liaison
  • Christian Sidor, Associate Director of Research & Curator of Vertebrate Paleontology
  • Hally Swift, Director of Finance & Operations
  • Eldon Tam, New Burke Project Director
Culture Curators
  • Archaeology: Peter Lape
  • Native American Anthropology: Sven Haakanson
  • Native American Art: Kathryn Bunn-Marcuse
  • Oceanic and Asian Culture: Holly Barker
Biology Curators
  • Botany and the Herbarium (WTU): Richard Olmstead
  • Genetic Resources and Herpetology: Adam Leaché
  • Ichthyology: Luke Tornabene
  • Mammalogy: Sharlene Santana
  • Ornithology: John Klicka
Paleontology + Geology Curators
  • Invertebrate Paleontology and Micropaleontology: Elizabeth Nesbitt
  • Paleobotany: Caroline Strömberg
  • Vertebrate Paleontology: Christian Sidor
  • Vertebrate Paleontology: Greg Wilson

The Burke Museum Association (BMA) actively supports the museum by increasing public visibility, raising funds, and providing strong ties to the community. The BMA is a separate 501(c)(3). For more information about the BMA, email burkeadm@uw.edu

John Howell photo

John Howell


Cedar River Group

Rebecca Wilson photo

Rebecca Wilson


Education Consultant

Sydnie Heberling

Sydnie Heberling


BlackRock, Inc.

Edgar Marcuse photo

Edgar Marcuse


Community Volunteer

John Kincaid photo

John Kincaid

Past President

Community Volunteer

Greg Blume photo

Greg Blume

Blume Company Real Estate

Mike Bruemmer

Mike Bruemmer


Rex Buck, Jr. photo

Rex Buck, Jr.

Wanapum Heritage Center, Wanapum Tribe

Dwane Chappelle

Dwane Chappelle

Seattle Department of Education and Early Learning

Anne Delaney Photo

Anne Delaney

Columbia Pacific Wealth Management 

Mary Dunnam photo

Mary Dunnam

Community Volunteer

Sheila Edwards Lange photo

Sheila Edwards Lange

Seattle Central College

Ellen Ferguson

Ellen Ferguson

Co-Chair, Campaign for the New Burke

Community Volunteer

Alicechandra Fritz photo

Alicechandra Fritz

Deloitte Consulting

Elise Hebb

Elise Hebb


Chris Hurley photo

Chris Hurley

University of Washington

Ron Irving photo

Ron Irving

University of Washington

Hunter Jeffers photo

Hunter Jeffers

Foster Pepper, PLLC

Ellen Look

Ellen Look

Community Volunteer

Kristin Luttinen

Kristin Luttinen

Community Volunteer

Doug McTavish photo

Doug McTavish

Community Volunteer


Lisa Plath

Community Volunteer

John Pohl photo

John Pohl

Triple Creek Development

Brent Reys photos

Brent Reys

Pistol Creek Company


Jennifer Schubert

University of Washington

Spencer G. Smith photo

Spencer G. Smith

Community Volunteer


William Urschel

Tersai Corporation


Melissa Yeager

Breath Therapeutics Inc

Erin Younger photo

Erin Younger

Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage

State of Washington
University of Washington
Burke Museum Association Advisory Council
  • Patricia Baillargeon
  • Hugh Bangasser
  • Janet Creighton
  • Leonard Forsman
  • Mike Garvey
  • Bernie Hall
  • Marie Halverson
  • Mark Hewitt
  • Joyce McCallum
  • Heather Nason
  • Eleanor Nolan
  • Darcy Paschino
  • John Price
  • Virginia Schafer
  • Spencer F.F. Smith
  • Bill Stafford
  • Susie Stoller
  • David Towne
  • Steve Whiston
  • Bob Wiley
Advisory Boards

The Burke Museum is also guided by its advisory boards.

Native American Advisory Board

The role of Native American Advisory Board members is to provide advice and direction within indigenous efforts that focus on a number of important areas, including exhibits, collections policy, outreach, repatriation and collaborative tribal and museum programs. Its advisors focus on Native American tribes in the Northwest; are involved with museums and cultural center experiences; and/or are cultural heritage specialists. For more information, contact Polly Olsen, Tribal Liaison, at polly@uw.edu.

  • Apsaalooke Nation, lisaaksiichaa Ross Braine
  • Colville, Jacqueline Cook
  • Colville, Rodney & Colleen Cawston
  • Lower Elwha Klallam, Arlene Wheeler
  • Lower Elwha Klallam, Roger Fernandes
  • Lummi Nation, Lena Tso
  • Makah, Janine Ledford
  • Muckleshoot, Warren King George
  • Nisqually Indian Tribe, Annette "Nettsie" Bullchild
  • Nuu-chah-nulth, Dr. Charlotte Coté
  • Puyallup Tribe of Indians, Brandon Reynon
  • Puyallup Tribe of Indians, Nicole Barandon
  • Samish, Jan Flagg
  • Squaxin Island Tribe, Charlene Krise
  • Suquamish, Marilyn Jones
  • Swinomish Indian Tribal Community, Larry Campbell
  • Swinomish Indian Tribal Community, Josephine Jefferson 
  • Tulalip, Cecilia Gobin
  • Umatilla, Armand Minthorn
  • Unangan (Aleut), Adam Osbekoff (Employed at Snoqualmie Indian Tribe)
  • Wanapum, Rex Buck
  • Yakama Nation, Davis "Yellowash" Washines
  • Yakama Nation, Patricia Whitefoot
  • Yakama Nation, Miles R. Miller
  • Zuni/Tlingit, Dr. Miranda Belarde-Lewis
Burke Student Ambassadors

The Burke Student Ambassadors serve as an avenue for communication between the Burke Museum and the UW student body. Applications from UW undergraduate students are accepted in the fall each year. For more information, contact Jamie Lee, Human Resources Manager, at jamiecl@uw.edu or 206.543.6846. 

Back to Top